Skip to main content

Award Winning Book Lists

Caldecott Medal

 Given to an artist for outstanding picture book. 

Newbery Medal

Given to an author for outstanding children's literature. 

Geisel Medal

Named for Dr. Seuss, given to authors and illustrators of books for beginning readers. 

Coretta Scott King Award

Given to an author and illustrator for appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Pura Belpre Award

Given to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience.

NC Childrens Book Award

North Carolina children vote to award a picture book and junior book each year.